You are here:  Home  >  Tax Saving Instrument  >  Current Article

Types of Income Tax Returns

By   /   August 15, 2013  /   No Comments

Types of tax returns

There are five categories of Income Tax returns.

  1. Normal return
  2. Belated return
  3. Revised return
  4. Defective return
  5. Returns in response to notices


Normal return

Returns filed within the return filing due date, that is 31 July or 30 September of concerned assessment year


Belated return

In case of failure to file the return on or before the due date, belated return can be filed before the expiry of one year from the end of the relevant assessment year.


Revised return

In case of any omission or any wrong statement mentioned in the normal return can be revised at any time before the expiry of one year from the end of the relevant assessment year.


Defective return

Assessing Officer considers that the return is defective, he may intimate the defect. One has to rectify the defect within a period of fifteen days from the date of such intimation. If the assessee wants more time, he can file an application to the A O and a further 15 days can be granted at the instance of the A O.


Returns in response To notices

Assessing officer in the process of making assessment, may serve a notice under various sections like 142(1), 148(1), 153A(a) or 153C. Returns are required to be furnished within the date specified on the respective notices.





    Print       Email

About the author

Hi My name is Hari Om Tripathi. I am an engineer by chance & a Personal Financial Planner by choice. Currently residing in Kanpur & writing full time for Financial Kundali. In case you have any query about Personal Financial Planning such a buying a MF or ULIP, going for a life insurance plan or a term plan, to surrender your policy or not or any other questions related to your Personal Financial Planning, write to me at financialkundali@gmail.com

You might also like...

Tax Benefits of Home Loan

Read More →